Wedding Diets

For the life of me, I will never understand the women who wait until the month before their wedding to try and lose weight. Or the ones who want to lose fifty pounds before they walk down the aisle. That first batch of women are just setting themselves up for disappointment, and the second batch are setting themselves up for either disappointment or looking like a totally different human being on their wedding day.

Me, I’d just like to lose between ten and fifteen pounds. Not for my wedding, just in general. I’d just like to trim down and tone up a bit, not to turn my body into something unrecognizable. I want to be able to wear a cute bathing suit this summer (without covering up with a gigantic t-shirt like I usually do), and then later, I want to be able to have my wedding dress look graceful on me. That’s all.

But here’s the thing. I’m human. In all likelihood, I will lose the weight and then gain at least some of it back, either from stress or simply making stupid dietary choices or something. And if that happens close to my wedding day, I want to be able to fix it.

So I’m trying an experiment. I am curious what (relatively sensible) diets do work in a slight pinch. I’m going to try out a few of those two-week diets and see what works the best. First one? Special K.

The Special K diet requires me to eat two bowls of Special K per day (one for breakfast and one for lunch) and two Special K snacks…I’m pretty sure I’ll get sick of this one very quickly, so it’s a good thing it’s only for two weeks. They claim I can lose up to 6 pounds in two weeks on this, so we’ll see!

6 responses to “Wedding Diets

  1. I’ve lost 25 lbs since Christmas, by adding in 5 miles on a stationary bike every day, and cutting ALL gluten out of my “diet”. I still drink wine, eat chocolate, and all of that. I replaced the pasta/bread/etc with rice, and not only do I feel tons better, I look a lot better too!! 🙂

    • Attagirl! Yeah, I’m just curious which of these “diets” works best, for those who are freaking out and have two weeks to lose the weight. I lost a bunch of weight a few years ago just by going vegetarian.

  2. I’m one of those brides trying to trim down for the big day. I’m going to the gym 5-6 days a week, working with a trainer, and eating under 1200 calories a day – 3 meals, 2 snacks, each one containing carbs, fat, and protein. Planning for a day is tricky, but it seems to be working! I would ditch Special K. The only reason you would see any results is because you’re not eating anything! You’ll just be hungry all the time, which makes you more likely to cheat.

    • You are going to be so skinny by April! Your diet is definitely the one I’m going to ultimately do – I lose weight pretty easily by being sensible – but I’m just trying these as an experiment since I have time to play around.

      So far, Special K is actually okay. I mean, granted, I’m only an afternoon in, but I have a relatively small appetite usually, so it works so far.

      But I am already a little tired of grains. Glad it’s only two weeks!

  3. Hey Caroline,
    Over many years I have witnessed more diets crash and burn than I can count (3 sisters, 2 daughters, 1 wife…) I’ve also been on a few myself. The ONLY thing that I’ve seen work, really work, is Weight Watchers. I lost 25 pounds on it 6 years ago and kept it off until I crept back up 15 pounds last year. I went back on WW last April and was back down again by June.

    My best friend had struggled for years, mostly trying to exercise his weight away to no avail. He joined me on WW and lost 30 pounds. My mom-in-law is down at least 20 pounds since she went on last year.

    I don’t mean to be too emphatic about it but I’ve seen WW work really well. It helped me alter the way I think about eating and didn’t force me to keep up weird habits that were unsustainable. The whole system is engineered to make you succeed (and no, I don’t get any kick-back from them).

    Best of luck with whatever you decide to do!

    • I know a lot of people who have had great success with WW! It seems like a pretty smart system, assigning points to everything. I will definitely look into it if I need to lose more than about 10 pounds. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

